2022 Arlin G. Meyer Prize in Imaginative Writing

Announcing a Call for Nominations for the 2022 Arlin G. Meyer Prize in Imaginative Writing

The National Board of the Lilly Network of Church-Related Colleges and Universities is proud to announce the 2022 Arlin G. Meyer Prize in Imaginative Writing

The Arlin G. Meyer Prize is awarded biennially to a full-time faculty member from a college or university in the Lilly Network of Church Related Colleges and Universities. Work that exemplifies the practice of the Christian artistic or scholarly vocation in relation to any pertinent subject matter or literary and artistic style will be considered. The prize will be awarded in different years for works of creative imagination and for works of scholarship. The 2022 Arlin G. Meyer Prize will reward the author of an original work of imaginative writing in one of the following categories: literary fiction, dramatic script or screenplay, creative nonfiction, poetry, or original text for a musical composition, such as an opera libretto, cantata text, or book and lyrics of a musical that emerges from his or her practice of the vocation of the Christian creative writer, in accord with the principles and ideals of the Lilly Fellows Program.

The Prize honors the late Arlin G. Meyer, Professor Emeritus of English at Valparaiso University, who served as program director of the Lilly Fellows Program in Humanities and the Arts from its inception in 1991 until his retirement in 2002.

The 2022 Arlin G. Meyer Prize will be awarded to a full-time faculty member at a school in the Lilly Fellows Program National Network of Church-Related Colleges and Universities whose work was published in 2019, 2020, or 2021. 

The Prize of $3000 will be awarded at the Lilly Fellows Program National Conference at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee on October 28-30, 2022.

Nomination Procedure

1. Each Lilly Network institution may nominate one work for the 2022 Arlin G. Meyer Prize. The institution may select its nominee through any process.

2. The work must have been authored by a full-time faculty member or administrator at a current Lilly Fellows Program National Network institution. The full-time faculty member may be a visiting faculty artist.

3. The work must have been published during the calendar year of 2019, 2020, or 2021.

4. All nominations materials are submitted at the SlideRoom website (link coming in November 2019). Nominations must include:

  • A cover letter of nomination signed by one or more of the  official LFP representatives from the nominating institution
  • A statement or narrative of approximately 500 words by the writer explaining how the work exemplifies the practice of the Christian academic or artistic vocation
  • A submission of the nominated work. If it is a book, please submit the title, publisher, and ISBN to SlideRoom. If the work is the text for a musical composition, the printed score with text along with a sound recording of the performed work must be uploaded to SlideRoom. Please email lillyfellows.program@valpo.edu with any questions.
  • The author's curriculum vitae

5. All nomination materials must be submitted to SlideRoom here (link coming soon)

6. Nomination deadline: March 1, 2022. Nominations received after this date cannot be considered.

Future subjects of the Arlin G. Meyer Prize: 2024, Visual Arts.

Click here to download a flyer (coming soon)

To see past winners of the Meyer prize, click here.

Noteworthy News

LFP Office Closed for Holiday Break

The LFP office will be closed December 20, 2021-January 4, 2022. We wish you a joyous Christmas celebration!

November LFP Update

The Current LFP Update for November 2021 is now available. Click here.

Announcing the 2022-2024 Lilly Postdoctoral Fellowship

The 2022-2024 Lilly Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Humanities and the Arts will be taking applications through January 19, 2022. To learn more about this two-year, residential postdoctoral fellowship at Valparaiso University, click here.

Announcing the winner of the 2021 LFP Book Award

We are pleased to announce that On Christian Teaching: Practicing Faith in the Classroom by David I. Smith has won the 2021 LFP Book Award. For more information and to see the five finalists, click here.

Grove City College Hosts Regional Conference

Grove City College invites participants and presenters for a regional conference entitled "Christianity and Core Texts at Global/Cultural Crossroads" April 7-9, 2022. For more information, click here.

Hope College Big Read

Hope College is hosting a Network Exchange March 6-8, 2022 to showcase their annual month-long community-wide reading program. Click here for more information.

Lilly Network of Church- Related Colleges and Universities

If you are interested in learning more about membership in the Lilly Network of Church-Related Colleges and Universities, please contact us here.

New edition of Leading Lives that Matter released

In their second edition of Leading Lives That Matter, editors Mark Schwehn and Dorothy Bass compile a wide range of texts—from ancient and contemporary literature, social commentary, and philosophy—related to questions of vital interest for those who are trying to decide what to do with their lives and what kind of human beings they hope to become. Leading Lives that Matter has been an important text in many of our fellowship and grant programs, and it contains excellent resources. Click here for more information and an excerpt.

Religion, State, and Nationalism Conference at Valparaiso University

Valparaiso University is hosting a conference on April 8, 2022 entitled Religion, State, and Nationalism Conference: Problems and Possibilities. For more information, click here.

Vatican II and Higher Education: Leading Forward

Sacred Heart University will host a regional conference on October 13-15, 2022 to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Vatican II and the University's founding. For more information including a call for papers, click here.