LFP Book Award

Announcing the Winner of the 2015 Lilly Fellows Program Book Award

The biennial Lilly Fellows Program Book Award honors an original and imaginative work from any academic discipline that best exemplifies the central ideas and principles animating the Lilly Fellows Program. These include faith and learning in the Christian intellectual tradition, the vocation of teaching and scholarship, and the history, theory, or practice of the university as the site of religious inquiry and culture.



Becoming Beholders: Cultivating Sacramental Imagination and Actions in College Classrooms
Edited by Karen E. Eifler and Thomas M. Landy    
Liturgical Press, 2014
ISBN-13:  9780814682715

Becoming Beholders, edited by Karen E. Eifler and Thomas M. Landy, explores how a vision of creation rooted in the Incarnation can impact scholarship and teaching for Catholic and non-Catholic scholars alike.  Becoming Beholders demonstrates how this vision, or “sacramental imagination,” can work hand-in-hand with disciplinary training to move scholar-teachers to see deeply—that is, to help them understand how pedagogy and disciplinary modes of observation, questioning, theorizing, and experimentation connect to an understanding of creation as divine gift.  Becoming Beholders will invigorate thoughtful scholarship and teaching and perhaps, most importantly, inspire new ways of seeing and being.



The Pietist Vision of Christian Higher Education                                        Beginning with the Word: Modern Literature and the Question of Belief
Edited by Christopher Gehrz                                                                              Roger Lundin
InterVarsity Press, 2014                                                                                      Baker Academic/Brazos, 2014
ISBN-13: 9780830840717                                                                                  ISBN-13: 9780801027260


The deadline for nominations the 2017 LFP Book Award is March 1, 2017.  Nomination information will appear in fall, 2016.

To download a flyer announcing the winner and finalists, click here.

For past winners, click here.

Noteworthy News

2016 Arlin G. Meyer Prize in Nonfiction

We are now accepting nominations for the 2016 Arlin G. Meyer Prize in Nonfiction.  Each LFP Network School can nominate one faculty member for this prize.  Nominations are due March 1, 2016. For more information, click here.

2015 Lilly Fellows Program Book Award Winner and Finalists

Click here to see the winner of and finalists for the 2015 Lilly Fellows program Book Award!

2015 Workshop for Senior Administrators

The 2015 Workshop for Senior Administrators was held on October 8-9 at Belmont University.  We will be posting talks as they are available on our website.

2015 Annual National Conference

The 25th annual National Conference was held on October 9-11, 2015, at Belmont University.  As talks become available, we will post them to our website.

February LFP Update

The Current LFP Update for Feburary 2016 is now available. Click here.

Follow the Exiles from Eden Blog!

The LFP is now sponsoring a new blog, Exiles from Eden.  Go check it out!

National Network of Church- Related Colleges and Universities

If you are interested in learning more about membership in the National Network of Church-Related Colleges and Universities, please contact us here.